The Art Of Fishing

My hair is grey, my wrinkles are clearly visible and my abdomen droops a little more than I prefer. Time has flown. It seems not too long ago when I walked my kid to school. Today my son who works as an engineer has left the comfort of home to work at a different corner of the State. Sometimes I wonder if he could be something more if I have done a better job.

As a parent, I am often guilty of trying to choose a career for him because I thought I know what is best for him. I admit it isn’t easy to leave all decisions to him, especially when it concerns his future.

While trying to be a good parent, I failed to realize the importance of giving my child the freedom to choose his life paths, on what he wants to do with this career, his love interests, ultimately, his future. My roles as a parent, I realized, is just to offer opinion and advice and should allowed him to make decisions like choosing a toy or a school bag when he was young.

But of course, things are easier said than done, especially if one’s root teaches as otherwise. My parents believed strongly in the philosophy of “spare the rod and spoil the child”. But everyone makes mistake every now and then. Mistake should be used as a teaching-learning experience. I managed to abandon this old-fashion parent-child dynamic, though.

I never like the idea of hurting my own child. Shouting and canning confuses a child, making it difficult for them to open and share his thoughts. I empowered and guided my child to be strong and independent. I’ve let myself become more supportive rather than over-protective. I’ve maximize the philosophy, “Teach a child to fish and he can have fish everyday; fish for him and he has fish for one day”.

I admit that I do not know if I have done a good job as a parent, but I know that I have done and given my best. As much as I’d hope that I have control over his destiny, things have turned out the way they are. And as a mum, I hope the best for him; in everything he does and aspires to do.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Murni
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 14:20:02

    Thumbs up!

    Reply

  2. Murni
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 14:21:58

    Encemnya adik & kakak lagi cantek…semuanya pun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

